Niseko

We traveled from Sapporo to Kutchan Village by bus, driving through a mild snow storm with very low-visibility. We arrived at the perfect time with powder on the ground and more falling by the minute. Clouds were hovering over the Annupuri ranges and Mount Yotei, obstructing much of the view. The wind was strong and the storm was being carried away with it.

IMG_9844

IMG_9838

IMG_9849

We found a hotel at the last minute (due to our car rental problems) and the plan was to check-in, unload, and get right up to the mountain. We knew the night-riding would be all time and we couldn’t wait to strap in. We were unsure of what would happen during our week stay but the forecast looked dry. We had to get it in while we could. The hotel we stayed at- The Niseko Freedom Inn – was a 10-minute walk to Hanazono. Once we dropped our bags we were off. That first night riding session was incredible. It’s indescribable.

If you want the convenience of being able to snowboard/ski a couple minutes to Hanazono and free shuttle rides into town and back at night I recommend staying at the Niseko Freedom Inn. Plus, the staff are super friendly and willing to help you with anything you need. Here is a link for more information and booking:
http://www.freedom-inn.jp/en/

The next day we got up early to ride the legendary Niseko powder and we put in a solid day- a 9 to 5’er with no breaks. We were ripping turns and didn’t have time for silly things like eating. I finally understood what it meant to be in the white room. I didn’t take the advice of others, which was to close your mouth so you don’t choke on the snow. I went into the white room with my mouth open, laughing and the snow went right in. I didn’t choke. I just continued to laugh as the snow remained on my lips and face. Just when I thought I couldn’t take another run we were back on the lift chair for more. We lost a few hours in Strawberry Fields and it was one of the best days of my life.

Here’s shredmaster Ryan Stephens:

IMG_9862

IMG_9853

IMG_9861

After those first two incredible days the weather would turn sour and there would be no more snow falling for the rest of our snowboard trip. Ironically, Tokyo would receive almost a foot of snow. The Japan Meteorological Agency would issue the first heavy snowfall warning for central Tokyo in thirteen years and all major forms of transportation would be affected for several days. Of course, we continued to check the forecast every day hoping our luck would change. The storms would continue to move all around us and everywhere we weren’t for the next two weeks. So what did we do? As Ryan would say, “We made lemonade”.

When we weren’t snowboarding we were eating and the good eats were plentiful and the ramen bowls were always full. I had some of the best food of my life in Niseko and with nearly every region in Japan having its own variation of ramen I tried as many different kinds as I could without going on an actual ramen tour (I’m serious these things exist and there is even a Ramen Village in Asahikawa). Ramen is not to be taken lightly and I was very serious about eating as much as I could while I was in Japan.

In Niseko village, we went to a restaurant famous for its ramen with potato starch. It was rich and delicious. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. Another night we went to a restaurant recommended by some locals known for its delicious ramen and Ryan accidentally ordered the double bowl. I have never seen a ramen bowl so big and it was filled to the top. I don’t think he could even eat half of it because the portion was so gigantic.

For more detailed information about local restaurants in Niseko check out this blog with detailed reviews and photos: http://foodsamurai.wordpress.com/restaurants/

One of my favorite food memories was from Kabuki 1 (there is also a Kabuki 2). We made our own Teppanyaki over a hot plate, met some friendly guys sitting next to us, and enjoyed the food and sake. My only regret is that we didn’t try the Okonomiyaki (a Japanese-style savory pancake). There is always next time!
Check out their mouth-watering website: http://www.nisekokabuki.com/

IMG_9866

IMG_9874

IMG_9881

Leave a comment